2 YEARS AGO TODAY
At 2006-03-15 on 3:47 p.m.

2 years ago today my husband had his accident and was nearly killed and crushed to death when his boat fell on him and he had to be life flighted to the trauma hospital-that was the most scariest day in our lives...I will never forgot the sounds and sights I saw/heard that day.....
Hearing the boat fall on him and then hearing him scream my name for help and then going outside to see what happened(i knew it was going to be bad before i opened the door),seeing him stuck under the boat/trailer crushing him and if it slipped just a lil more he would of been dead,me starting to scream for help from somebody and hoping they heard me cause i was trying to hold up the boat(which was a joke thinking i could,hearing the sirens was like music to our ears-help was on its way-seeing the policeman arrive and he felt helpless too and was asking my husband what he could do to help-hearing my husband ask for a belt to tie off his arm cause he was going to cut his arm/hand off to free himself-hearing the policeman calling for the trauma helicopter,seeing the fireman arrive and hoping they could free him-they had to put these balloon things under the boat and inflate them to lift the boat off of him-finally freeing him and i really didnt get to say anything to him but that i love you and he was gone,seeing the ambulance take him away to the waiting helicopter and then seeing it take off in the distance-that is when i was able to calm down and know he was in good hands and hearing the police talking to other police to track down our boys and they did-Doug was at track practice and Wes was fishing and they found them and got them home-the police we're wonderful to us-me trying to contact my family to tell them what had happened and we were on our way to the hospital-my mom came and rode with us and my dad went to the hospital to see if he could find out anything...
We finally got to the hospital which seems like it took forever but it really didnt-maybe 30 to 45 mints....
the police werent going to let me drive but i calmed down a lot when the helicopter took off and my boys got home-then waiting to see him in the trauma bay seemed like forever and when i finally did get in my husband broke down crying and so did i-it was aweful-his fingers were barely hanging on and get this-none of the bones were broken-how did that happen?! the fingers were just cut off the bones-he was very lucky all around,it just missed crushing his chest and skull-they had to wait on a hand surgeon to arrive to see what could be done and while all this was going on with my husband the sites we saw that night still haunt me-like the 14 year old girl that was sitting at the end of her driveway and her mom didnt see her and ran her over,hearing her screaming was aweful and then she started to crash and started to spit up black blood which meant she was bleeding internal,seeing a 12 year old Bosnia girl brought in cause she was hanging out the car window when they were pulling into their carport and her arm got caught on the metal roof and nearly cut her arm off and her family didnt speak any English and didnt know what the drs. were saying-the drs. were telling them they had to amputate thier daughters arm-it was very sad,then in the room/curtain next to my husband was a young guy that was on life support-he was killed on his motorcycle and they were waiting for his family to get there from out of town to sign papers to donate his organs-so sad seeing him laying there and knowing he didnt have any family with him yet and hearing the machines breathe for him :*(,then on the other side of my husband was a woman who just bought herself a scooter and took it out for the first time and wrecked it and she was in bad shape,its sad to know that as bad as my husband was he was probably the luckiest one in there that night......To know this kind of stuff goes on each and every night at the trauma hospital just blows my mind....
Today my husbands fingers look healed up but it doesnt really work and never will be the same and he still cant wear his wedding ring which drives him more nuts then me-he can sometimes get it on his crooked fingers but then its hard to get off....THANK YOU LORD for not taking my husband that day and our boys dad-it really opened our eyes that today is not a givin and tomorrow is not promised to any of us-just like that we could be gone...I always wonder what happen to the other people that night-did they survive-does someone else have that guys organs now and were givin a second chance at life because of him?!
I love my husband and kids more then anything and going thru this has made us stronger-dont get me wrong-there are days that i cant stand my husband and vice versa and when were playing and goofing off i thump him in his bad hand or twist his fingers and tell him he didnt need to be life flighted and he says mean playful stuff about me-that is just us trying to make light of a horriable day and although it made us stronger it also weakend my security and trust in life it self-i think of bad thigs happeneing now instead of good-Wes calls me "debbie downer" the character from SNL and its so true but but i can laugh at a lot of things too or else i would of gone wackoo..............

back forth

navigate
current
archives
extras
profile

contact
notes
e-mail

thanks
design
diaryland